- We strive to provide complete care for our patients. Learn more about all the services we provide.
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Posted on 05-02-2017
To Wheat or Not To Wheat- Are you gluten intolerant?
Humans have eaten gluten rich grains like wheat and barley for millions of years. However, the wheat of today is vastly different from the wheat our ancestors grew and ate.
Many grains contain gluten. Gluten is a protein that can be found in grains like wheat, rye, barley, oats and spelt.
Gluten can also hide in processed foods under a variety of names, including but not limited to “malts”, starches, hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), cereal binding, texturized vegetable protein (TVP), edible coatings, edible films, natural juices and seasonings. (https://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html)
There are levels of “gluten problems” that people experience. They are either people have celiac disease, a wheat allergy, or gluten intolerance.
Celiac disease: long term autoimmune disorder primarily affecting the small intestine that occurs in people who are genetically predisposed.
Consuming it will result in an immune reaction that can be diagnosed by measuring antibodies called IgE and/or other immune system markers.
Gluten intolerance or sensitivity:
So, what should you do if you experience problems eating wheat?
To test your nutritional status, call Hands on Healing, 408-371-0068 for a free consultation.
Sign up now for a free consultation!
|Monday||9 am - 1 pm||3 pm - 6:30 pm|
|Tuesday||9 am - 1 pm||3 pm - 6:30 pm|
|Wednesday||9 am - 1 pm||3 pm - 6:30 pm|
|Thursday||Closed||3 pm - 6:30 pm|
|Friday||9 am - 1 pm||Closed|
|Saturday||9 am - 1 pm||1st & 3rd Saturday Each Month|
|9 am - 1 pm||9 am - 1 pm||9 am - 1 pm||Closed||9 am - 1 pm||9 am - 1 pm||Closed|
|3 pm - 6:30 pm||3 pm - 6:30 pm||3 pm - 6:30 pm||3 pm - 6:30 pm||Closed||1st & 3rd Saturday Each Month||Closed|